Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

The Price of Anonymity

So I blog, so I don’t use my kids names, so I am anonymous, so I can say what I want! Right?

I have got back into blogging recently and as such knew that a big way to get readers is to comment on other blogs. As such I’ve been reading and to be honest have been shocked at what I have read! I haven’t commented because I have been lost for words!! It got me to wonder, what the hell do people think happens when they write a blog post. It’s viewable by anyone in the world and anonymity or not, you have no control over who sees it!

Here’s just an example of some of the stuff I have read:

  • Details of sex life
  • Moaning about partners
  • Moaning about in laws
  • Pictures of other people’s kids

Now don’t get me wrong, I am sure that all these bloggers (and I have seen examples of these on more than 1 blog so I’m not thinking of anyone in particular) have asked the other people if it’s ok to write about them, and I really hope that they have also asked other people if it is ok to publish pics of their kids. But beyond that, can we really be sure of who sees what we write? Anyone with an internet connection can see what we blog about. Yes paedophiles might read. Yes ex’s who want you back might read it. Your in laws may read what you don’t want them to see. You might tell your best mate the new position you tried last night but do you really need to tell the world your hubby was crap at it?

We all need to rant sometimes and no one blogs what they aren’t likely to say to a partner or best friend, but there are some things that are best not in the public domain, surely? Do we really live in a society where everything is public?

Personally, I write minimally about other people and try my hardest to keep them anonymous, but I know that there will always be some one out there who knows who I am talking about. So I do always ask, what do I want people I know, to know? In a strange way, I am happy with strangers to know and comment on anything because to them I’m not a real person – but I have to be prepared that what I write online may get someone’s back up, and if it does I may have to face that without the security of my laptop in front of me.

I’m not saying we shouldn’t blog, and in the main the posts on mummy blogs are what I would say “safe” in that they are personal but not infringing on others’ privacy – sometimes though I do wonder if the fact it’s all online makes us more likely to say what should remain unsaid!

What are your blogging boundaries, and do you speak up if you think other posts cross a line?

November 2, 2011 - Posted by | Blogging | ,

6 Comments »

  1. Hello! Just popped by via BritMums. I completely get your point. I’ve longed to have a whinge about the in-laws from time to time, for example, but I can’t risk it ever coming back to haunt me. Once it’s out, it’s out. I know it’s great to read the juicy details but the impact could be huge. It’s just not worth it.

    Comment by Primrose Hill | November 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by and I’m glad it’s not just me!! I just sometimes think people don’t realise how open their blog posts are, but then we all have different boundaries, maybe mine are just very different to those of others!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | November 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. loved reading this post I totally get your point

    Always following
    Come and say hi
    http://www.thedollsfactory.com

    Comment by The Dolls Factory (@dollsfactory) | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. thanks for commenting on my post.
    When I first starting blogging I can remember being really shocked by the things some people put on their blog, it still amazes me how much people will post and happily post photos of friends/family and I wonder is everyone really happy with that?
    was amazed yesterday by the number of comments and the number of people who are relatively annonymous.
    But I don’t think that should give anyone a passport to feel they can say what they like. After all, you wouldn’t stand in a shopping centre with a loud hailer slagging off your mother-in-law, so why do it on the internet, which is just as much an open forum, but I guess the thing with blogging is – your blog, your rules.

    Comment by helloitsgemma | November 5, 2011 | Reply

    • I just worry some people don’t realise how out there blogs are – people act differently from behind a computer screen!! Thanks for coming over to take a look!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | November 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

