Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

Get Lost with Karen Rose

As a busy mum I get little time to escape for me time so what ever it is I want to do has to be in an evening when the kids are in bed. Of course there is the usual TV programmes and watching a film, but what I really love to do is get lost in a book.

Those who know me will know that about 2 years ago I was into Twilight and any other Vampire literature I could sink my teeth into. Then I got a bit bored of the genre and needed something a bit more true to life. I’ve never been one for reading romances, but I don’t do horror. I was at a bit of a loss.

It was a visit to my Aunties’ just over a year ago that changed all that. She had two books by Karen Rose and said I would enjoy them. As she was in the process of moving house she said either I took them or they would go to the charity shop. Within a week I had read the first of the two and was hooked.

At the moment, Karen has 12 books out and whilst each one can be read independently, the characters crop up in different books, so it wasn’t long before I ordered them all and started from book one. You can check out her books on her website. I’ve only got 3 more to go and then I will be eagerly awaiting the release of her new book in January.

The thing I love about the stories is they are believable yet pure escapism at the same time. Many of the lead males are unbelievably romantic, but not in a OTT way. There is always plenty of sexual chemistry and plenty of murders to solve. I’ve not managed to read a single one yet that hasn’t made me laugh, cry and completely pull me in. I love how I feel when I’m reading these books, they are great for relaxing and switching off all the other things floating through my brain – I would go as far as saying my best nights sleep are after reading a chapter of one of her books!

So if you love books and you’re looking for something new, get reading!! I’d love to hear if any of you have read her books and what you all think!

October 29, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

