Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

Weigh In Number One

Regular readers will no doubt recall that not so long ago I wrote a post about the fact I have signed up for Weight Watchers again and am determined to lose the extra weight I’ve been carrying around for most of my adult life. So how did my 1st week go?

The food side was ok, I switched from high fat snacks and started eating lots of fruit and swapping high POINTS value carbs, with soups and low point alternatives. As far as being active is concerned, well that didn’t change much but I have been looking at the small ways I can be more active in the normal things I do. So I was parking at the far end of the supermarket car park instead of as close to the door as possible. I take the washing upstairs in a couple of trips instead of taking a big basket at once and have just generally made my self put more “umph” into anything I have been doing.

I felt great for the first few days but as weigh day approached I started to feel bloated and like I had put weight on rather than lost it. Off we went for weigh in last Thursday and I was expecting very little if any change in my weight.

I got on the scales and…………..I’ve lost 3lb! Now whilst this doesn’t sound much – especially when I think about the massive 6 stone I want to lose in total, to put that into perspective, it’s only just under a quarter of a stone! Which means I am on track to lose it all within a year and that’s my aim. There’s no point in losing it too fast because I know it will go back on just as fast – slow and steady wins the race so to speak!

This week is going pretty good so far, and I have to say that I am beginning to find it more natural to listen to the full signals and I am eating less but not feeling hungry, so fingers crossed for more good news this week!!!

September 6, 2010 - Posted by | Mummy Tummy Begone | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Well done you! Good luck! I want to lose a pound a week until March 2011 for a bit birthday party – finding it really hard this week though – am hungry! Will try to drink more water.

    Good luck and keep us posted!

    Comment by Popdance | September 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Water is definitly the key. One habit I learnt when I did weight watchers before, is that if you feel peckish have a glass of water and wait 5 minutes, then if you still feel peckish its hunger, if not it was thirst! Not sure how much truth is in that theory but I was never dehydrated living by that rule!!!

      Good luck!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | September 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. Just read your blog for the first time. Hey, good for you! I agree in small steps – I once blogged about parking at the back of the lot and other little ways to add more steps to your day. Keep it up!

    Comment by slovie64 | September 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Cheers for reading and commenting! Lots of little things make a big difference and thats what I keep telling myself!

      Comment by supersinglemum | September 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. Well done that is great. I have lost it completely at the moment there is no mojo there at all I just want to eat all day long so I am very jealous! xx

    Comment by andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou | September 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. Well done, that’s brilliant news! I think you’re looking at it very sensibly which is definitely the best approach. I know you can do it and can’t wait for a night out in a year’s time with my new “slimmer” friend – plus I’ll be able to drink then so we can do LOTS of celebrating!! x

    Comment by MummyMatters | September 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Ok it’s in my diary already!!!! And even more incentive to do it!!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  5. Excellent start to your first week. It takes a couple of weeks to get ‘into the swing’ of WW but i’m sure you’ll be absolutely fine and you’ll be surprised how quickly the odd 1 or 3lb adds up! Good Luck 🙂

    Comment by MrsShilts | September 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Cheers!!! Yes I remember from last time I did it, and feeling really crap when I only lost half a pound in a week, but this time I have told myself that it all adds up and that if I have a “bad” week I’ll focus on the total weight loss rather than dwell on the little weight loss. But any loss is better than a gain and I’ve been gaining for years now so at least it’s going back in the right direction now!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | September 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

