Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

Not another iPhone review!!!

Ok I’m sure most of you have read about the iPhone, seen it on the news and no doubt many of you own one. I got mine just over a month ago and here’s why I love it……

Internet access on the iPhone is my favourite thing. No matter where I go I have access to any site I want. Ok I use the usual; Facebook, twitter, emails – but I have the whole net in my pocket. And the quality of the screen is fantastic. I did wonder when I got it how much I would use the net because on my old phone I had access but even with WiFi it was slow and pointless.

The next thing I love are the variety of apps available. I’ve only used free ones to now but I am able to access networking sites and my blog ( this post. Is being written from my iPhone!). On top of all that I can access my mobile account, see cinema listings, shop on eBay and amazon, pretend my phone is a light saber and even track the planets of our solar system!!! I think I am a true geek at heart after all!

Now one of my big reasons for not getting an iPhone before was the camera. I love the fact that with camera phones I always have a camera on me and my last phones camera was 8.1 mega pixels which was great. But I decided not too long ago to save up for a decent camera and so my phone would just be a backup. I have the iPhone 3GS and the camera is a much lower spec with no flash. That said, I’m not disappointed at all. It is crystal clear and to be honest I don’t notice much difference in quality, in fact I would say when zooming in the quality is better. What I really like though is that when I take pictures and then view them, there is also the added bonus that it knows where you were when you took the photo!! Like I said I am realising what a geek I actually am!

Oh yeah and it’s an iPod too, which means all my music is in one place and it connects to all the stuff I already have!

On the down side, I’m not impressed with the battery life. I am generally having to charge it every day and that’s not something I am used to having to do. In truth though that is most probably because I leave the WiFi switched on and use it a hell of alot. There are apps that claim to improve battery life but I have no idea if they are worth buying.

All in all I am really impressed which is good seeing as I am tied into my contract for 24 months. I’d love to hear from anyone who has found other brill app’s or tips on how to improve battery life! I really do feel like the whole world is at my finger tips now………

………..BUT, on the flip side it’s also got me thinking, is it all too much? Do we all rely on a virtual world too much now? If this much attention was put into “real life” would the world be a better place? What do you think?

August 31, 2010 - Posted by | Entertainment | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I don’t have an iphone but ipod touch and the battery on that is rubbish as well. But I think it is because if we are at home thats what I use for twitter as it is easier! xx

    Comment by andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou | September 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes I use my iPhone constantly and I think that’s the issue rather than the battery! But to be fair about it I do get at least a full days useage out of a full battery so I’ve not been let down by it.

      Comment by supersinglemum | September 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

