Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

The Slimmer me is Fighting to Get Out!!

Those of you who know me know that my weight isn’t something that stops me doing things and it isn’t like I sit and moan about my size all the time. Thing is though, since having H I have been full of the right intentions and yet just lately I have been eating more than ever – and the wrong things! So last night I took the plunge and signed up for Weight Watchers. I’ve done it before, when B was 14 months I signed up and lost 2 and a half stone over 4 months. I felt great although still needed to lose another 2 stone to reach “normal” weight. The thing is a list of excuses began, we moved house and after 6 months I had completely lost track of what I was doing. The weight started going back on so I signed up again and lasted about 2 weeks. My heart wasn’t in it and it didn’t work.

When I fell pregnant with H I hadn’t quite got back up to where I was but wasn’t far off and I vowed this time not to eat for 2. I didn’t!! Mainly because at 5 months my world was turned upside down when I became a single mum. After having H I was around the same weight as I was after B was born, but I lost weight quickly and within 2 months was back into my pre pregnancy clothes. I was happy, for the time being as I hadn’t put on and kept on the pregnancy weight this time.

H turned 2 just over a month ago and we went on holiday the week of her birthday. The holiday pictures made me see myself in a different light. Having not weighed myself for at least a year, and still fitting in the same clothes, I’d been denying I was putting weight on. I decided to diet, go it alone, why pay for someone to weigh me. Well, if I don’t have someone there who might catch me out, I cheat! That’s why I am now back with Weight Watchers and have no intention of leaving until I am down to my ideal weight.006

My initial target is 5% of my body weight and for that I need to lose 11lb. I’m taking seriously this time though, I’ve been shopping and bought so much fruit and veg it almost didn’t fit in the fridge! I know it won’t be easy every day. Today has been a good day but I am determined and that’s what matters. Plus I will be updating everyone on here so not only will my WW Leader be keeping tabs on me, you lot will be too!

My freezer is sorted,I threw out a bin bag full of stuff out of date or ridiculously high in fat and have already worked out the points for what I eat most. Cheese will have to be missed for a while! So wish me luck and check back each week to see how I am doing!!!

August 27, 2010 - Posted by | Mummy Tummy Begone | , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Why don’t you join in the Nig Momma Challenge, I’ve only been doing it a week and had so many supportive comments that I feel really motivated. As it happens I am having a temporary lapse due to lots of celebrating (my best friend is pregnant after 4 go’s of IVR) but I’m not beating myself up over it and giving up as \i would’ve done before as I know I’ll be right back on track in a day or so!

    Comment by Cass@FrugalFamily | August 27, 2010 | Reply

    • That would be Big Momma Challenge lol

      Comment by Cass@FrugalFamily | August 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Where to I find that then, is it on your site?? It’s great to know we’re not alone eh!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | August 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh good luck. I know how you feel am going through it all now, and trying to update everyone on the blog as well. It is really hard but you will get there I am sure of it xx

    Comment by andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou | August 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Cheers for the support, I’ve been following your progress too!! Long way to go but day 3 and I am still positive so that’s got to be a good sign lol!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | August 29, 2010 | Reply

  3. I KNOW you can do it!! I’ve never known anyone more determined that you, so now you have set your goal keep it firmly in your sights and you’ll be a winner!!

    Comment by MummyMatters | August 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Ah thanks!!!! I know its all in the mind, if I think positive and keep the vision of a thin me in mind then that will keep me on track, am sure I’ll have some off days too though but it’s the long term that needs to be focused on! xx

      Comment by supersinglemum | August 29, 2010 | Reply

  4. Good Luck, I know you can do it! You’ve inspired me, I’ve been saying that I need to lose weight for a couple of years now but haven’t done anything. This is it, if you can do it, so can I! xxxxxxxxxxx

    Comment by mumtoj | August 27, 2010 | Reply

    • OOOooooo go you, you know where I am if you need support and are you coming back for every weeks weigh in that would be ace!!!! xxx

      Comment by supersinglemum | August 29, 2010 | Reply

      • Think I’ll have to give them a miss, might get a tad expensive!! lol Want to lose around 20lbs in total, I did it before J and I really should do it again now!! Don’t want you to outshine me too much at the beach when you come to visit lol 🙂

        Comment by mumtoj | August 29, 2010 | Reply

        • Ok once a month then lol!!!! Good luck keep me posted!!! Xx

          Comment by supersinglemum | August 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

