Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

A Letter To Me

 

Whilst listening to my iPod the other day one of my favourite songs came on. It’s by Brad Paisley and I don’t know if any of you will know it but it’s called Letter to Me. Anyway the song is about him writing a letter to himself when he was 17 and something about it got me thinking about what I would say in such letter. So here it is, my letter to me!

 

Well hello, this is the older you!

I know life is confusing right now, so much going on and things starting to change as you go on to 6th Form and other friends chose a different path. It is hard but it will give you the strength to get through what lies ahead. There will be hard times and there will be fantastic times but I am not writing for you to change anything, because everything you do has made me who I am now.

 

There is big change coming, when you move to Germany don’t worry about the career you are dreaming of now, that will come in time, until then you just need any old job to get you meeting people – do that and you will have a fantastic time.

 

When your Grandparents visit for new year 98-99, enjoy every moment. You will want to be with your friends, but make every moment count, you will remember them all to this day and I send you hugs and strength to get through how that visit ends.

 

You will meet Mr Right, and you will know that he will give you what you want, your real dream of being a Mum. He will also destroy your faith in mankind. But, you know what, I am still here so it’s not that bad! You will have 2 gorgeous kids (ok that’s a big giveaway so no way am I telling you the sex!), you will have some really good times with this man but when it ends, as you will always know in your heart will happen, you will become a stronger person for the experience.

 

You’ve got some fantastic friends waiting to meet you at every stage of your life. Embrace them all, some will be forever, others will dwindle away but remember, friendship, no matter how long it lasts, is important and always brings good.

 

Oh and don’t get cocky about your driving, you’ll go 8 years without hitting another car but it will cost you, more in pride than money, and yes, such a small scratch can cost that much!!!

 

I guess my message to you from the future is, you can get through it all. Go out and have fun, keep to your morals they are high and you are a good person for that. But never be surprised about people’s words and actions. You can only control you, and as long as you remember this, even the bad will make you smile when you know you did it, you got through, and one day you’ll meet me and smile!

 

Until then, you have a lot ahead of you so go Live your life!!!!

xxxxx

June 6, 2010 - Posted by | Me, myself and I | ,

5 Comments »

  1. This is great, I bet it was good to write to show you how much you have done and got through! Might have to pinch this and do one myself! Love it xx

    Comment by andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou | June 6, 2010 | Reply

    • I did think of making it into a meme so if you want to pinch it go right ahead lol!!
      Yes was harder than I first thought it would be though, knowing how much detail to include and what major events to put in there!!! Glad you enjoyed it!

      Comment by supersinglemum | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. This is fab, what a great idea, I may too pinch this and do one myself. xxx

    Comment by mumtoj | June 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Knew I should have tagged people, oh well, I have a few other ideas up my sleve which I may make into meme’s, watch this space!

      Comment by supersinglemum | June 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] weeks ago I was reading my friend, Supersinglemum‘s blog, she had just written a post titled A Letter To Me. She decided to write a letter to her 17 year old self after listening to a Brad Paisley song. […]

    Pingback by A Letter To Myself « MumtoJ's Blog | July 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

