Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

Hiding Behind the Laptop!

I was thinking yesterday how it’s really strange how I will blog about anything yet in real life it’s different! I will talk about anything on here, within reason of course! I recently took part in the Meme telling the whole world what I keep in my handbag! Yet yesterday at work when I lost my phone in it, I was really conscious about emptying the contents out on the table in front of my colleagues! In reality though any of them could have had the guided tour on my blog!

 

It did make me wonder though, do we loose too many inhibitions when we are hiding behind the laptop? I talk openly about my thoughts and feelings on here – mainly because once the kids are in bed I am sat on my own with just my virtual web friends to talk through things that are on my mind! I enjoy letting people into my mind and seeing what goes on in my world but is it always a good thing to be so forthcoming with information in such a public and in some ways uncontrolled way.

 

Facebook is the same, I’m no where near as bad as I have been, but it has been known for me to post status updates 15 to 20 times a day. In some respects that’s not as bad because it’s only friends who can view it, all 200 hundred odd of them some of which are, again, “virtual” friends! And don’t get me started on Twitter, I’m not on there all the time but everything I post on there (except direct messages) is viewable by anyone in the world. You can even have your tweets show up in Google searches.

 

It’s how our society is these days. The internet is a fantastic way of sourcing information and keeping in touch, but it’s also a haven for those strange people who like to stalk others or steal identities! When I set up this blog I made a decision not to name my children or myself, not to give away where in the world I am or to post pictures of me and my girls. That didn’t last long. Ok my girls are still nameless, but I have used pictures and joined things like The Secret Post Club, which means people learn more about me.

 

I guess it’s impossible to be invisible, but what I am trying to say is that sometimes I forget just how public the net can be and wonder if maybe, sometimes, the fact we are sat in our comfortable, safe homes, we forget the net isn’t just what’s on our screen! Do you ever worry you’re saying too much?

May 11, 2010 - Posted by | Blogging | ,

6 Comments »

  1. This is such a valid point and one which possibly most bloggers are guilty of. I stopped putting so much on FB for that reason, I never post to say that I’m looking forward to going on holiday or anything like that because I’m worried that it will adverise the fact that my house will be empty. Instead I only post about them when I am back but I do sometimes worry that I’m too open in my posts. I keep coming back to the idea of doing a totally anonymous blog, maybe one day!

    Comment by MummyMatters | May 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I found it so hard to try and keep absolute anonimity, to be honest I found it was too impersonal and so I hope I am getting the balance just about right – maybe it’s coz I vlogged what was in my bag – way more up close and personal!!! Has reminded me to think more before I write now though! Oh and your bang on about the holiday thing, can’t believe how many people advertise when they are going away!!! Think sometimes excitment takes over common sense tho lol!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | May 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. I agree totally with you. I never worry that I say too much and there are things, that I do NOT talk about. But I spoke in depth with Mr L about blogging when I first started, and he made a very strongly felt opinion one of those that you know you can’t change! That he didn’t mind me blogging, but his name was never to be mentioned, or Baba’s and no pictures of Baba. It is personal reasons for him, but I am glad that he made it clear from the start. As I do like not having Baba on there! xx

    Comment by andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou | May 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I think if you make a decision and stick to it thats great. I have pic’s of my girls on here but only since I have been able to water mark them. If ever I thought the pics were being exploited I would remove them all. And I only include them if they are applicable, where a generic pic wouldn’t do as good a job – if that makes sense! I do sometimes wish it was completely anon tho, so I could have a proper rant at times, but then that’s a side of me I don’t really want publicly available either lol!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | May 11, 2010 | Reply

      • Hi SSM, I noticed myself doing it on dating sites for a while. Like I’d put all sorts of stuff on my profile that I wouldn’t ever had told someone in a bar. I made a conscious effort to change it and shut up a bit.
        Nothing much identifying on my actual blog, but everyone who reads it knows me anyway. bye x

        Comment by Hari | May 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yes I totally worry at times that I have said too much, but it does not seem to stop me! When one of cousins said to me the other day she read my blog, I just thought oh dear! It is so nice to have our own little corner of the world to let off steam in though. Mich x

    Comment by Michelle | May 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

