Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

The Gallery – A Portrait or Four!

I look at it every month and never get round to doing it, but this week I have decided to give my attempt at The Gallery. For those of you who don’t know, it’s run by Tara Cain on her Blog Sticky Fingers. Go over and take a look and have a go. This week the topic is portraits, old or new, including whoever you want so I looked through my pictures, and I managed to narrow it down to four. A portrait to me is a snap shot of time that is captured perfectly, although not the best quality pictures in the world, these pictures fill me with emotion!

 

 I don’t look glamorous, I hadn’t done my hair and I felt like hell, but this is the moment I held H for the very 1st time. She was about 36 hours old and was breathing for herself again after being on a ventilator. She was 2 weeks over due and went through a pretty traumatic birth, but she’s my little fighter and you’d never know what she went through from looking at her now. Apgar score of 1 at 1min old and 3 at 5 minutes long – for those who understand that, you will know that’s a pretty close call. This is a portrait of Love, Thankfulness and Relief.

 

 

My next portrait is of my two girls, soaking it all up, studying each other. It was such a natural moment when H was only a few weeks old. B was smitten with her from the moment she came home. She had found it hard coming to hospital and seeing her Mummy with tubes and unable to move easily, and her new baby sister also full of tubes and very ill. But when H came home, B was full of love and affection. This portrait is of Love, Understanding and Sisterhood.

 

I adore this picture. It captures the spirit of Sports Day so well. This was the 1st year that B actually managed to do the sack race without anyone helping her, she came last but she didn’t care she loved it!!! This portrait is of Fun, Sun and Laughter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And finally we have my darling girlies recently. The smiles say it all. I look at these pictures and see how much B has grown, how much H is just a normal little girl and the fact they are both happy means the world to me. This portrait is of my life as a Mum!!!

April 28, 2010 - Posted by | The Gallery | , ,

12 Comments »

  1. gorgeous girls xx

    Comment by becky | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. Lovely photos all of them – but my photo eye is well taken with the sack race one – I know how blimmin difficult it is to capture then bouncing around like that!

    Comment by MrsW | April 28, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s brilliant isn’t it. The camera was on rapid fire, so lots of deleted shots in the end, but well worth it to get this one!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. Great pics! Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Susie | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. Lovely lovely. I love that photos are so powerful they can transport you right back to where you took them.
    Thanks so much for joining in x

    Comment by Tara@Sticky fingers | April 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for having me, I must make a point of doing this more often has been great fun looking through my pictures!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  5. Gorgeous pics, I especially the one of the B with H as a baby, I really hope I will have a picture similar to that one day with Little Bean and the wriggler!

    Comment by MummyMatters | April 28, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m sure you will, although Little Bean won’t be as big as B lol!!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. Oh they are such beautiful girls, and lovely photos too. 🙂

    Comment by itsmygoodlife | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  7. Wow such wonderful photographs…

    That first one especially. So precious a memory…

    and the Sports Day one – amazing shot!!

    Comment by Louise @ WeeWifie's World | May 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

