Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

Patience Grows with Age!

When I started my blog about 2 months ago, I also wrote my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days and I have been doing really well at crossing things off. I haven’t mentioned it for a while because what with starting work time just hasn’t been on my side. But don’t worry I am still working towards them!!

 

So last weekend the girls were meant to be with Daddy for the weekend, but due to the Volcanic Ash Cloud, he didn’t make it back in time. It meant however, that I had no plans as to what we would do with our weekend. I had to go to the local Warehouse store to get some craft bits and pieces for work and, wait for it, I bought paint! Oh no hang on, I mean for MY girls not for work!!! Yep, I decided the time had come that I would brave letting the girls do painting at home!!! Guess what, yep, they loved it. B was in shock that I was letting them do it and H spent the whole afternoon saying “painting”!!

 

The thing that really got me though, wasn’t the fact that it made a mess, because it didn’t. It wasn’t the fact that I didn’t have a clue how to help them to do it, because I let them both take the lead. The thing that was surprising was the amount of patience I had with the whole activity and it got me wondering if that’s just an age thing or if it’s another sign of how I have changed in a person over the years. To show what I mean, when B was the age H is now, I went to work part time and she went to nursery. This is no different with H, although my working pattern now is much more family friendly. I didn’t work weekends, again that’s the same now. We lived hundreds of miles away from family with mountains and the sea all within 10 minutes of us. However, when it came to doing kid things with B, like crafts and painting, I just had no patience at all.

Ok since then a lot has changed and I am not even going to begin to try and pinpoint why things have changed in this area, but we now play with playdough, moon sand, painting, drawing. We don’t just do these activities but all three of us love it! Maybe it’s because it is second time round too. I do feel guilty now when I pull out the craft stuff and B is trying things for the 1st time with H, yet H will grow up with these activities always having been in her life!!

 

As you can see from the pictures we had a few different things to use with the paints. Of course there were brushes, but as well we had sponges and some plastic cutlery. Now back when B was little I wouldn’t have even had the imagination to use these different objects in a painting session! And the pictures the girls did now have pride of place on the kitchen door!

 

So anyone out there who shies away from doing such craft activities at home, give it a go. Honestly the negatives that put you off are nothing compared to the enjoyment you will get from it! Make sure you put down newspaper or a plastic sheet to protect the table, and if you have a carpet then maybe a plastic sheet to protect that too. If it’s laminate flooring, well I took the risk and the few paint splashes washed off easily. Real worst case scenario the kids end up in the bath, so just make sure you allow time for this just in case!! If I can do it and enjoy it then so can you!!

April 21, 2010 - Posted by | Entertainment, My 101 Things | ,

7 Comments »

  1. Ah, this is a lovely post! I really wish my little one was remotely into arts and crafts (especially since we have a Hobbycraft round the corner!) – I have no problem with the mess but he just holds no interest in it, plus HATES getting his hands messy. I’m so glad you had fun x

    Comment by bakingmadmama | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • H does have a bit of an issue, you will notice the scowl in one of the pictures, but I try to encourage her to get stuck in there! She does reach a point where she requests her hands are washed but on the whole she is getting there! We just had a new hobbycraft open up down the road and I could spend a fortune in there! B is craft mad and I think H is going to be the same, so I have just admitted defeat and actually love it!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. Ah sounds (and looks) like you had great fun. Funny how you have done this post today as I was only thinking this morning that I should get Little Bean’s paints and playdoh out for a session. I always dread it so put it off but then when we actually do it, we both love it. Now that the weather is getting a bit better we can get out in the garden more which is even better!!

    Comment by MummyMatters | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes, mess isn’t such a worry in the garden! I surprised myself how much fun it was!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. Aw bless they look like they had fun. xxx

    Comment by mumtoj | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh, it’s so wonderful to see little ones enjoying painting.

    Little Man will sit and colour for hours, and he’s turning into quite the little artist.
    In fact give Little Man just about anything, from toilet rolls to cardboard boxes and he’ll make something (more often than not a gun or a shooter of some sort!).

    Comment by itsmygoodlife | April 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

