Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

A True Blogging Breakthrough

Nope this has nothing to do with stats, comments, hosts or anything like that. This is a short thank you to everyone who has offered their opinion to my last post The Reintroduction of Daddy. From reading the post you will have gathered I had been quite worried about the whole Daddy coming back after 3 months away and ending up hating me for leaving her with people she hardly remembers. Well after some direct words from some people – it was needed – I decided to just admit to myself that the only way I would get any kind of let up of anxiety was to talk to J.

 

So, tonight I rang her and we spent 20 minutes talking about the plan for Thursday and what I was happy for her to do with the girls and what she was planning if it was ok with me. There was a lot of tension in the air initial, I think the nerves were on both sides, but I had arranged to phone her so we both were prepared and there was even a little bit of laughter in the call.

 

So it has now been agreed that not only will H go, but that I will leave it entirely to their judgement as to whether she stays with them over night or if they think she will be happier to come home.

 

But my point is that without the help of completely impartial comments on my blog I probably wouldn’t have picked up the phone, I would have got more tense and that would have passed on to the kids. It would have been the start of an argument between me and Daddy and to be honest, that’s not what I want from now on. So, here’s to amicability and being the adult, here’s to the best of a not so perfect family set up, and here’s to the future!!!

April 19, 2010 - Posted by | Parenting | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. I sometimes find it hard to make a comment on your posts because I’m not a mummy. But, I’m glad you got this one sorted.

    Any plans for your free time?

    Comment by Anna | April 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Please do comment, being a Mummy or not doesn’t matter, you still have life experience and experience of how relationships work – any views are welcome as it helps me see all sides before making a decision!!
      As for my free time, well its only Thursday afternoon and night, am at work and then will be doing nothing much in case I get a call saying they are bringing her home!!! Friday I will be sitting down with Daddy and working out when he is having the girls etc and then I can start looking for proper dates lol!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 19, 2010 | Reply

      • I’d treat yourself. Get a face pack. Some new nail varnish and have a proper pamper. I love doing that.

        Or rent a DVD (I’d recomend the time travellers wife if you haven’t seen it)

        I’ll try and comment more, promise :-).

        Comment by Anna | April 19, 2010 | Reply

        • I might actually start my lost season 5 marathon as still not opened the box set!!! Not at work fri either so could start as soon as I get home, takeaway and wine for tea lol!!!! Actually really looking forward to it after a good nights sleep!

          Comment by supersinglemum | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. Awww that’s fantastic news bout how everything has turned out, and that you received great advice on your blog post.

    Onwards and upwards =)

    Comment by Louise @ WeeWifie's World | April 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Definitly is, I know I wouldn’t have seen it all ways and made my decision with out the impartial advice that blogs attract!! Made me see why this is all important to me.

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. good on you courageous mummy!
    as far as how to spend “your” time it doesn’t really matter as long as you are not too rough on yourself ….that afternoon and night may feel strange and uncomfortable, anxiety driven and possibly even sad….but remember even if those feelings do arise for you it doesn’t mean that the way you handled this was wrong, it is just a reflection of how much you love the girls, how much you enjoy spending time with them and how much you value your role as their mum.
    Beth

    Comment by Beth | April 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Yep your right, the anxiety and worry is mostly for me, and how I feel not being the one responsible for my girls at that time. But he used to have them regularly and actually I am starting to get H geared up to seeing Daddy and between her and B I’m not sure who is most excited!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. Well done you

    You’ve shown that you are definitely the bigger person and your kids will benefit from it x x

    Now go have a glass of wine 😉

    Comment by Magic Mummy | April 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks!!! Saving the wine for Thursday night when I am home alone lol!!! Need a clear head for work until then!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

