Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

An Appeal For Feedback!

When I started my blog a few months ago, I had no idea what direction I would go with it. I got a lot of readers come over from British Mummy Bloggers who helped me get to grips with the WordPress platform as well as Twitter! I initially thought my blog would be where I talk mainly about my kids and get advice on what to do with them. Initially it was all about my girls and me being a single mum – hence the title of my blog. I have however noticed that it have evolved somewhat and talk about pretty much every aspect of my life on here.


I have recently, however, noticed that my comments have fallen off compared to what they were last month. Now I’m not too concerned because my stats show people are still coming to my site, but what does concern me is that probably only 1% or fewer are commenting on my posts. I have been a bit reluctant to blog about this fact in case people think I am being a little too egotistically assuming I am worthy of comments – but then I thought what the hell, it may be something simple I am doing wrong so asking for advice is a natural thing to do.


So I have a few questions for you all……..

  • Does the fact I chop and change between subjects put you off my blog?
  • Are you a regular reader and if so what makes you comment on some posts and not others?
  • If you’re a new reader is there anything on my site or posts that would put you off coming back?
  • Am I doing anything wrong or is this just a natural blogging dip in stats?

I would like to point out that I am very grateful for all my readers and really appreciate all the comments I do get. I also love to find new blogs so that’s another reason I like to get comments – not just for my own self indulgence!

April 17, 2010 - Posted by | Blogging | , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Since discovering Google reader I have so many blogs that I read that I feel like I don’t have time to comment on them all.

    Personally I don’t mind at all when a blog isn’t all about one thing and I enjoy yours x

    I’ll follow this with interest though as I would love more comments on my blog too

    Comment by Magic Mummy | April 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Much the same as me, I am guilty of only commenting on 1 of however many posts are in my reader from the same site. Unless a post really prompts me to speak up. If that is the reason for less comments then I’m accepting of that because we all have busy lives, I can live with it just hoped I was doing nothing wrong!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Does the fact I chop and change between subjects put you off my blog? (nope! I’m exactly the same!)

    Are you a regular reader and if so what makes you comment on some posts and not others? (I don’t read all posts as I don’t have time to read all in my reader. Also another reason I’ll put at next Q…).

    If you’re a new reader is there anything on my site or posts that would put you off coming back?

    Yes… I find your blogs really hard to read due to the lack of spacing between paragraphs. This can often make me skip past it without reading, when the topic looks good, especially when tired, as I struggle to read it with the no spacing as I have to really concentrate.

    I’d suggest more “double enters” after a paragraph, so there is a complete white line between paragraphs.

    Am I doing anything wrong or is this just a natural blogging dip in stats?

    I don’t think you’re doing anything wrong bar the spacing thing. Maybe it’s just the same as me, folk finding it heavy going without the gaps.

    But keep it up! I’m new to this too as ya probably know. I love it! The different topics etc, chopping changing, fine by me!! Life isn’t a one way street… there’s many twists and turns, so blog em I say!

    Comment by Louise @ WeeWifie's World | April 17, 2010 | Reply

    • I completely understand your point on the spacing, it’s something I have been struggling with as I don’t seem to have the facility on Windows writer to put double spacing. No matter how many times I hit enter at the end of a paragraph it doesn’t increase the space. I had comments previously about the text and so changed the font and size which got positive feedback so will have another go at trying the spacing out!
      Cheers for your comment, glad you enjoy on the whole.

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. My advice would be to continue to follow your heart as to what to blog about and to connect as much as possible with other bloggers, that’s all you can ever do and don’t stress too much about it, you most definitely aren’t doing anything wrong – so long as you enjoy it and find it worthwhile – I think writing about different things can be a reason to follow a blog rather than not, I’m not someone who has followed your blog in the past but that’s only because I don’t tend to read blogs that are out and out “mum blogs” as my children are older and it is absolutely no reflection on the content! There aren’t any rules in blogging and it is supposed to be a very supportive community, good luck with everything.

    Comment by Linda | April 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Well thanks for stopping by and I hope you will again! That is something that has got me wondering – as to whether my title puts people off who don’t have kids, or do people ignore that. Don’t get me wrong I have no plans to stop and as people say my variety is a good thing then that won’t change, I was more concerned by the fact my visits has been increasing steadily but my comments have dropped. I do however think that after the response I have had after asking the questions that I am going to stop worrying, as the general concensus is that people are enjoying it and that is my aim!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m fickle and struggle with time. Sometimes if I’m tired I’ll read and not comment on anyone. If i access on my phone i never comment (really common).
    So… it’s not you, it’s me 🙂

    Comment by Clair | April 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Hahaha, well thanks for commenting this time then!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

