Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

Why get stressed out at things we can’t change?????

Time for me to have a moan, I haven’t had one for a while so I am feeling it is well over due so here we go…….

 

As a nation us Brits get too stressed out about things that we can’t change, why do we do this? Is it a deeper sign of something?

 

So what has sparked me to have this little rant? It’s the fact that so many people have been on the news over the last 36 hours moaning about the fact the flights in and out of the UK have been grounded due to the Icelandic Volcano eruption. It’s a natural disaster for crying out loud. No one can control it.

 

Believe me I understand people are upset, as I speak there are BritishVolcano Erupting by kahunapulej Troops who should have arrived back from 3 months in a war zone, sat waiting to get home to their loved ones. People are trying to get to weddings scheduled for tomorrow. Others are trying to make it home in time for back to school next week. We all have important things that happen in life and unfortunately sometimes things happen – but don’t blame the Air Traffic Control people who have made the decision that no flights can run at the moment!

 

If it was me (granted I do have a fear of flying so maybe that adds to it), but if I was waiting to fly somewhere, whether it be up to Scotland to visit friends, or over to Oz to visit other friends – I would rather not take the risk of Volcanic ash making the engines stall and possibly being in a crash! Ok I don’t know the odds, but if the authorities say it’s not worth the risk well that’s good enough for me! I actually heard one bloke on the news say it was “ridiculous, it’s like the leaves on the line excuse”!!!! And yep, that’s the man who you can thank for my rant!!!! I mean come on, you would be the 1st in line for compensation if something happened to the plane you were on!!

 

So many times the British public as a whole seem to have an issue with stress. Look at the bigger picture people! Yes we had a lot of snow this year, schools closed and people missed out from money for being off work, how many of those off school and work checked on an elderly neighbour? We all complain about the state of the nations economy and blame the government – who didn’t take advantage of cheap credit, even if it was under control? We are a rush rush stress stress society. When you go to eat out do you moan about the length of time it takes to get served your meal? Yet on the continent there is an understanding that proper fresh cooked food takes time.

 

I just think we should look at the bigger picture a little more, think about why a situation has arisen. Getting stressed will never change the situation so surely it is better to refocus that energy for the good. Believe me, I get stressed – not as much as I used to – I consciously try not to let things get to me so much. It’s not healthy, it’s not attractive and it’s not productive, so people of Great Britain……CHILLAX!!!!!!!!!

April 16, 2010 - Posted by | Current Affairs | , ,

10 Comments »

  1. LMAO!!! Loved your rant but at the same time think its funny that you’re stressing about people getting stressed saying that we as a nation stress too much! Is that bottle kicking in already xx

    Comment by mummymatters | April 16, 2010 | Reply

    • No I am not getting stressed I have relieved myself of the stress by allow that energy to be put to better use, through writing a blog post telling everyone to chill LOL!!! I wrote it before I had drunk my 1st glass lol!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. Love it! Your post sums up everything I’ve been thinking the past two days. I wish I was ‘stranded’ in Lanzarote in the sunshine unable to get back to work, as you say there’s not much you can do so c’est la vie!

    Comment by Mrsshilts | April 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Must admit am starting to get a little stressed now due to the fact my ex is stuck and should be home and I have no-one to have B for work on Mon!!! But I can’t do anything about it, and just wish it was me stuck in the sun lol!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Saw your comment on my post-seeing as my hubby has been stranded in London since Thursday and we are really missing him we are just disappointed.

    Eldest gets home from army once every 2 weeks for weekend-so he is missing that this weekend-and now seems somewhat unsure if he will be home for israel independence day which is big thing.

    Comment by newdaynewlesson | April 17, 2010 | Reply

    • I hope your eldest manages to get home soon and that it wont be too long till your hubby gets back to you. It’s not an easy situation and I hope my post didn’t upset or offend, I completely understand being upset about it etc – my point was the people on the news who came across as believing that there was no real need to shut the airports. It bugs me that these people never look at the bigger picture!!! You, like I, are being realistic – it’s annoying but we can’t do anything about it just wait!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 17, 2010 | Reply

      • You misunderstood-eldest is here and gets to come home every other weekend. So hubby missed his visit.

        Nope not offended-I believe things happen for a reason and nothing you can do to control it and anger doesn’t help. It is human though to be disappointed, but that too will pass.

        What is the worst is the not knowing. If someone said-no flights for sure for another week and then for sure there would be flights it would be one thing-the uncertainty is what is hard-being up in the air.

        Comment by newdaynewlesson | April 17, 2010 | Reply

        • Or rather not being up in the air lol!!!
          Ok I get what you were saying now about your son lol!
          Your right, the being in limbo is a pain, and all i keep hearing on the news today is that the last erruption in that area lasted 6 months, and last erruption of that particular volcano lasted 18 months – thats a long time to be grounded but i guess no one knows what to expect!

          Comment by supersinglemum | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. Soooo true!!

    I was listening to the radio doing the dishes and they approached a man in an airport for comments and he was fabulous!

    He said along the lines of what you’ve said here. He wrote, if it was engine failure etc then he’d be mighty pissed off, but considering the reason, noones at fault, it’s just something you could never expect, and you just gotta deal with it and move on and wasn’t much point being angry about it all, or finding someone to blame!

    I bet this wasn’t what the radio people wanted from him though!! I bet they wanted anger!

    Your post is exactly how I feel about it… yes there’s sadness because of it, but it’s a national disaster. Sorry, move on. We could’ve had a freaking earthquake/tsunami etc destroy entire cities etc. This is nowhere near as bad as some others have to deal with. So all you moaners, quite your bloomin whining!

    Comment by Louise @ WeeWifie's World | April 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Exactly, has anyone died?? Not from what I have heard. Yes it’s bad for families stuck in limbo, and bad for the economy, but let’s put it in perspective, Haiti, Chinese Earthquakes even 9/11 – this is a national inconvienience not disaster. As said previously – I do understand the frustration and upset, it’s the anger and attempt at blame that I have seen.Although as this goes on I have seen less of it!

      Comment by supersinglemum | April 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

