Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

Going slightly Mad!

What am I going to do? It’s about 6 weeks until I have to make up my mind. That decision can only be made by me and so many people are trying to influence my decision. Trouble is I can’t weigh up the arguments to work out what to do because it’s all so confusing. Nothing is in plain English, and how do I know people are telling me the truth???

Yep I’m talking about the upcoming General Election. I really don’t know what to do. I have been eligible to vote for 13 years, in fact my 1st General Election vote was when Labour came to power. I had just completed my A Level in Economics, and I voted on the strength of what the main principles of each party are, rather than their policies. All I know is, I don’t trust Gordon Brown, I remember the struggles faced by many when Thatcher was in charge, and the Lib Dem’s probably won’t get in so are they a wasted vote? And what the hell is a hung parliament and what would it mean to me?

I’m sat watching the Chancellor’s debate at the moment and it’s not helping. They all have some good arguments and they have all said things I don’t agree with. It’s not making it any easier! The only thing I am sure of is that I will vote, because not to vote means I have no right to complain about anything in this country. Why can’t they make political debate fun? Why can’t they make it easy to understand? Help!!!!!!! Any advice on where to go to find some plain English answers as to what each party proposes is very welcome!!

March 29, 2010 - Posted by | Current Affairs

4 Comments »

  1. politics makes my head reel…

    Comment by Heather | March 30, 2010 | Reply

    • I found a good website after I wrote this post – http://www.comparepolitics.co.uk/

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 30, 2010 | Reply

      • hi, i’m not sure about comparepolitics.co.uk

        I found a bunch of broken links and then when I went to report them I realised that not only was there no way to contact the authors there was no way to know who they were – seems a dodgy for a source for important information.

        I found one I do prefer though http://www.pocketpolitics.co.uk

        Comment by ian ruaraidh harrison | April 14, 2010 | Reply

        • Yes after closer examination I found it wasn’t as good as I had hoped, thanks for this link though will take a look!

          Comment by supersinglemum | April 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

