Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

i did it!

I’ve been waiting for today for months. On that cold Thursday back in December I made the same 45 minute drive to the unknown. Oh I knew where I was going (my SatNav was telling me) and I knew why (I had the letter in my bag), but the unknown was what would happen when I got there, and when, if ever, anything would happen after that. My trip today though was more full of excitement than anxiety. It was full of hope for the future not just hope I could get through a few hours without messing up. It was my 1st day at work, not just the interview!The Bridge to Spring - Part 2 by WisDoc @ Flickr.com

To say the last 3 months have been long is no understatement. I knew it wouldn’t be a quick start after finding out I had been offered the job due to checks and references all having to be done first, but I hadn’t been expecting 3 months waiting. Today my waiting ended. I woke early after a better nights sleep than I thought the nerves would let me get. The girls were very co-operative and there were no arguments or tantrums from either of them. We left the house on time; a first for a long time. I dropped B to school and H willingly went to nursery not even giving me a second glance and off I went.

I arrived around 10 minutes early, which had been my aim – not too early, not too late, but equally not walking in bang on 10am when I was due to start. I was thankful to see another lady getting out of her car and although the building houses many different offices and conference facilities, we said hello and confirmed we were both there for the same company. It was suddenly a nice feeling for the nerves to start to ease. Our morning was spent meeting our colleagues and bosses and talking briefly about the setting up of a completely new area. It was informal and more of a meet and greet than a day at work. Tomorrow it all starts properly when we all attend day 1 of our induction course.

Spring signs by cuellar @Flickr.comI had been worried after 2 years out of work I would feel lost and out of control, but how wrong was I. From the moment I walked in it felt right. It felt like this is where my life is supposed to have taken me. Don’t get me wrong, I know the novelty will wear off, as with any job, I will reach a stage where I don’t want to get out of bed some mornings because I know I have horrible jobs to do that day. (Normally that’s when I have put off my filing for long enough and it’s reached a point I can no longer ignore!) I also know that due to the nature of my work I will have hard days that due to confidentiality I won’t be able to talk to anyone about outside of work. But today my biggest realisation is that this is right. I am now officially a Working Mum again, because that’s the right choice for me and my girls!

Spring has sprung and new life is appearing every where, I feel like Spring has sprung for me, a new season in my life and my arms are open to embrace it!

March 22, 2010 - Posted by | Working Mum | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Glad the first day went well!

    Comment by Becky | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. So glad you had a good first day and I think you will be fab at your new job and your kids have got a super mum as well – New beginnings are for spring couldn’t have all come together at a more apt time.
    Hope to see you soon Kim x

    Comment by kim | March 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Will sure see you soon, think I might be teeing up an appointment to “meet” you lot lol!!! Oh and B says I’m now Super Nanny lol!!!! xx

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. Well done on conquering your first day! I remember feeling exactly the same when I went back to a “proper job” after working from home for 3 years. It was very daunting but nearly 2 years later and I know this is what’s right for us!

    Comment by Suburban Mum | March 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes it’s definitly true you know when the time is right! I’m quite lucky my job can include working from home if needed so very flexible round my family too!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m so glad your first day back went so well, and I hope they continue like that xx

    Comment by andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou | March 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Day 2 was a success as well, although a lot to take in!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  5. Onwards and upwards now!!

    =)

    Comment by Louise @ WeeWifie's World | March 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

