Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

All I Want for Easter is my two front teeth!

B lost her bottom 4 front teeth last year, and the big ones are coming through nicely. Thankfully I wasn’t present for them coming out as they either dropped out at school or at Daddy’s. Her 2 top front teeth have been wobbly for a while though. She has been really uncomfortable with them, in fact 2 nights ago I had to give her Calpol because she was in pain with it.

Today as normal she got up saying her teeth were annoying her. We got dressed and headed out to do a few jobs, and I stopped to fill up with petrol. As I am filling up B appeared at the window with blood pouring from her mouth, she had been twiddling it and it had twisted round. She refused to shut her mouth – I think my words were “You look like a Vampire!” Probably not very helpful. Now at this stage I have to point out I hate blood and I hate teeth, so petrol pump in hand and coming over queasy I promptly gave her the tissues and went to pay. I wasn’t much help to her and refused to look at her because I knew I had to drive!

We pulled up outside Grandma’s house and B ran in the house saying “Can you sort this out?” In sheer panic! She was talking without moving her mouth and still refusing to close her mouth. Bracing myself I looked and could see it was hanging on by a thread. I told her she would be able to pull it out and that she had to do it herself because I didn’t want to hurt her! So she did. I was in complete shock, I honestly didn’t think she would even try! The tooth went in the bin with the promise that the tooth fairy would know and I would leave her a note! To be honest I was surprised at the amount of blood there was. Having not been there to witness her other 4 coming out I wasn’t prepared for it and thank goodness my mum was there! Eventually the blood stopped and she started closing her mouth again!

 

Mum cooked the usually fantastic Sunday Roast and B was reluctant to eat it which is so unlike her. Whilst eating pudding she said she was scared her other top tooth would come out while she was eating and that she might swallow it. The 1st of the 2 coming out seemed to have freed the 2nd and it was also only hanging by a thread. I turned and said to her “Well it has to come out, so you either have to just put up with it or see if you can pull it out, but please leave the table if your going to try.” A few minutes passed and she left the table and silently went into the kitchen. Me, Mum and Dad all looked at each other. I waited a few minutes and said “B, if it won’t come don’t force it” as she bounded back into the dining room, tooth in hand shouting “it came out” with a big grin on her face, and thankfully not half as much blood. I was so proud of her! She was ecstatic. And Grandma promptly grabbed her purse and gave her £5 saying “You have been so brave doing that twice today and I so proud of you!” Tooth number 2 also went in the bin and I promised B that the tooth fairy would be fine about having a note instead of 2 very bloody teeth!

 

The funniest thing though is the whistle! She sat reading her book tonight about Sammy the Sloth, which has lots of “S” words in it! I tried not to laugh because bless her she can’t help it! On the down side, it looks wrong that she has those teeth missing. Hopefully the new ones won’t be long coming through! Trouble is I find I am quite unsympathetic at times with wobbly teeth because of how squeamish I am, so any tips on how I can deal with it better are greatly appreciated!

March 21, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Awww what a brave girl!! I remember losing my baby teeth… I loved pulling them out! Then I loved the bloody taste and sticking my tongue in the holes… lol. I was a strange child!

    My wee boys not lost any teeth yet. He’s 6. No sign of wobblers yet either. I dread to think what I’ll be like when he loses them! And I don’t have a thing about teeth nor blood (which is good since I’m a theatre nurse lol). I do however have a thing about EYES, god forbid anything happens with those!

    I laughed out loud at the comment on looking like a vampire!! hehehe….

    Comment by Louise @ WeeWifie's World | March 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Lol, B loves the Twilight Saga so I thought it would cheer her up to look like a Vampire, but it didn’t work!!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. I don’t remember losing my teeth at all.

    The kiddo hasn’t lost any yet, but he’s only 5. What IS the going rate for the tooth fairy these days?!

    Comment by Suburban Mum | March 22, 2010 | Reply

    • I gave the tooth fairy left B £1 for the 1st and 50p each after that!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

