Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

The Plan to Loose Weight

Right then, it is now a week exactly till I start work and start my new get fitter and shift the baby weight program! Also known as Mummy Tummy Begone, I have decided now is the time after some encouragement at reading Karin at CafeBebe’s posts. Now, anyone who knows me knows I can’t stick to diets, I feel like I am depriving myself and so want it more. Therefore I have come up with the following plan, which, if it doesn’t work I will rethink and may then decide the time has come to start counting calories!

1. Smaller Portions – I have kind of already started this one. I realised after watching Super Nanny last week that not only do I feed yourself too big a portions, but I also put far too much in front of my kids, so it’s smaller portions all round and not only that but I will listen to my body when it says “STOP EATING NOW!!!”

2. Water – I don’t drink enough that’s for sure. Up until recently all my fluid intake consisted of was milk on my cereal, a tea or coffee if I was out and about, and the odd mouthful of milk, juice or water as I got on with my jobs. Now I realised that was an issue as I was always fighting headaches and so changed – but started drinking a minimum of 5 cups of tea in a day. I have practically stopped drinking coffee though. And I drink a Green Tea blend so my argument is it is healthy. I need to drink more water though so no matter how much tea I drink I will make sure I have at least 8 glasses (which I believe is the recommended amount) a day.

3. Sit ups – the best exercises for stomach muscles yet I haven’t done one since I found out I was pregnant 2 and 1/2 years ago! So as of Monday I will be doing a minimum of 20 per day – I know about 4 different variants with legs up, crossed, twists etc so I think that’s a reasonable start and no excuses it just means 10 minutes less on the laptop in an evening!

4. excercise! – We all know it burns calories and those of us who are over weight but not trying to lose weight will probably admit to not doing any. So I am going to do some! I have 3 fitness DVD’s and once I get my Wii fixed, I can get back on with using the Wii fit to track my progress. I may well also have free time in the week with no kids once I start work and H is at nursery. I am going to begin by aiming to do 30 mins, 4 days a week and aim to increase this to 6 days a week once I get going.

5. Snacking – I won’t stop snacking, and come Easter Sunday I can eat chocolate again, but I am going to limit myself to fruit only for snacks, with a chocolate or other none fruit snack on the days I do my exercise, and it will be a small portion not a binge!!

So there we go, that’s my plan and I plan to stick to it. Watch this space to see how I do!

March 15, 2010 - Posted by | Mummy Tummy Begone | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Well done on putting together a plan of action. When I tried to drink more water I bought a litre sized flask and filled it up with water and my aim was to drink that every day. After I had managed to drink a litre I then tried drinking a flask in the morning and a flask in the afternoon/evening. Doing it this way I found I wasn’t spending every 5 minutes in the loo and I knew that I’d done it when my flask was empty. I’m sure once you start work it will all be easier anyway as you will have a focus!!

    Comment by MummyMatters | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Cheers, I am hoping it will be nice and easy to change my habits when I start work, I wont be able to snack through the day as easily so fingers crossed!!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Really admire you for doing this. I’ve never dieted as I like my food too much and exercise is one of those activities I do if I have time. But I do drink lots of water. I rarely drink anything else.

    CJ xx

    Comment by Crystal Jigsaw | March 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Lets just hope I stick to what I’ve set myself to do! xx

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

