Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

What a difference a child makes!

I thought the time had come to write about the differences between my girls, because I can’t believe how many there are!image

image

I tried to find 2 pictures of the same things but this is my girls both at approx. 18 months – yep that’s right these are 2 different kids of the same age not the same kid at different ages. If I posted a picture of H at around a year old though………

image

Now for anyone who has never seen my kids in the flesh, you are probably not seeing as many similarities as there are in true life because we all know the camera is a frozen view, but believe me when you take into account facial expression etc, they are probably 95% identical! That’s not a bad thing in itself, but I do find myself making comparisons on their development based on the fact that looks wise they are so alike!

They both started walking at around the same age, B was 16 months and H was 14 months, yet both started cruising around 7 months and with both I had expected the first steps to come sooner. They are both chatter boxes and there’s no stopping them babbling away. They both sleep and did so from and early age. (I honestly don’t like to shout about it because I know I am in the minority here!) But the differences are amazing.

At 18 months we took B on our 1st family holiday. We went to sunny Majorca with my parents and brother and I have clear memories of it. I remember B holding full conversations with us all, full sentences and tone – the works. Now I know I say H is a chatter box, but she is only just mastering 2 words together, she can do “yes please”, or “juice please” but she doesn’t say “Can I have more juice please” like B used to. Maybe this is one of the reasons why I still see H as much more of a baby than I did B at this point. At 18 months B was just starting to be fussy about her food. She was just coming out of the eat whatever is put in front of me stage (excluding most veg of course) and  it was beginning to be difficult to get her to try new foods. H on the other hand loves her food and although she does push some things to side of her plate, she has never (touch wood) refused to eat a meal, unless she has been ill or over tired. The big thing though is the tantrums. B didn’t really start with tantrums until she was about 3, I mean massive tantrums that last over 5 minutes of screaming, stamping feet and the like. With H this has started and it started about 6 months ago!

Now I am in no way trying to find reasons, because the reason is simple – they are 2 different people, B was an only child, H has an older sister who tries to talk for her, has tantrums she can copy and leaves toys around which H plays with. Plus I am a different person, I’m now a single mum, more relaxed about parenting as I have some experience this time, and in myself a much more contented person. It just fascinates me every day that 2 children, who so far look so alike, and are so alike in many ways, can also be so different. Bringing up kids is amazing and this is just another reason why!

image

Oh and if you want similarities, this was me at the same age!

I’d love to hear about the similarities and differences between your children too!

March 11, 2010 - Posted by | Parenting | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Wow, you do all look so similar. What a lovely peice about your children and recognising they are unique

    Comment by TheMadHouse | March 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks! I think it’s always inportant that kids are recognaised as individuals, we often play the “guess who the photo is” game and B gets it wrong lots, H looked at a pic of B the other day and said “me” lol!!! But at the same time I try and do things to celebrate the differences too!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh, your girls are lovely. 🙂

    My brother and I, as two year olds, looked very similar.. but that’s where it ended for us. 🙂

    Comment by Beth | March 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I didn’t post a pic of my brother, but he looked very similar at that age too lol!!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. My two older ones are as similar (not) as chocolate and vanilla! Look and personality wise!

    Comment by newdaynewlesson | March 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I always think its funny how some look so alike and others look so different! It fascinates me it really does!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

