Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

It’s Bin Day Again

Ok I have to have a rant – why do people insist on placing their wheely bins ON THE PAVEMENT when it’s bin day? I would completely understand if the houses round here were town houses that opened strWheelies a'waiting by Kat Johnston / Sanura Sakai.aight onto the road, but they all have front gardens and driveways. Yet every Thursday, without fail, I have to weave in and out, move bins out of my way and can’t generally annoyed because there are bins everywhere. Just myself walking would be bad enough but with pushchair in tow as well. I know our bin men are a bit bad in that even if your bin is 3 steps away from the edge of the road and next to your front door (ok maybe more than 3 steps, but honestly my drive is shorter than most family cars), they won’t bother to take it. But they will take it if it’s left at the top of the driveway rather than in the middle of the pavement. Now maybe I am wrong, and maybe it’s the bin men who eave them there after collections? Thought about that too, as would have phoned the council to have a moan, but nope these are full bins. I have even had people pull the bin onto the path straight in front of me!

Ok, now I have got that off my chest I feel better, and one else have the odd little thing that really winds them up on a regular basis?

Picture Credit: Kat Johnston/Sanura Sakai

March 4, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I had to laugh at this post because we simply don’t have pavements where I live! I live in the middle of nowhere on a farm and the binman has to come up our farm road to collect the rubbish. But I imagine it’s a nuisance all the same.

    CJ xx

    Comment by Crystal Jigsaw | March 4, 2010 | Reply

    • See that wouldn’t bother me – because I wouldn’t liveclose enoug to other people to get annoyed with their bins lmao!!! Can’t believe how muc of a rant I had about it, really not bothered about it now lol!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. When i lived in the UK, the bin men used to leave them scattered willy nilly over the pavement when they’d finished emptying them.. Used to drive me mad!

    Comment by Heather | March 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. I know in our area, the bins are supposed to be ‘kerbside’ (I guess so that the binmen can get round quicker?) otherwise the binmen don’t have to pick it up.

    Annoying though…

    Comment by Cheeky Wipes Helen | March 4, 2010 | Reply

    • I would understand if that was case here, but people actually leave their bins in the middle of the paths here!!! It’s just silly!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

