Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

I Need Chocolate!!!!

As some of you may or may not know, I have given up chocolate for lent. I did this once before, before kids, and the sense of achievement after was amazing. I also appreciated  all my Easter Eggs so much more! Since having kids I havn’t given up anything for Lent, but this year I decided I would kick start my diet with Lent. Now as for the religous side, yes I am a Christian and I do understand the giving up something as a sign of appreciation for what Jesus went through for us. However, I am not practising, the last time I went to church was almost exactly a year ago when I had H christened. The reason I decided to do it this year was to kick start my healthy eating, now I am not convinced that will happen as I am already planning to binge eat chocolate for a whole weekend!

Moonstruck chocolates by eszter.Picture Credit: eszter

Today I have discovered that Sunday’s are not part of Lent!! Now I have never heard this before and neither has my mum. According to Google there are 2 trains of thought depending on what Christian culture is being looked at. So the 1st is how I understood things; Lent lasts 40 days and 40 nights from Ash Wednesday, which means that Palm Sunday marks the end of Lent, a week before Easter. The week directly before Easter being known as “Holy Week” is not part of Lent although is another period of fasting in the Christian calender. This is what I have always believed from being a child and this was never in doubt even while I was a regular church goer. However, the other day B came home from school and told me that I was allowed to eat chocolate on Sunday’s as they are not part of Lent. I disagreed with her and told her the above and thought maybe she had just misunderstood things. But, I have just been told the same thing by a friend on Facebook. It seems that Western Christians practice this as they believe Sunday’s are Holy Days and as such cannot be included in fasting periods. Then of course there is the Catholic approach, which states that Maundy Thursday, the Thursday before Easter Sunday, marks the end of Lent, followed by Good Friday and Easter Saturday which are also periods of fasting. It seems even Google cannot provide a solid answer as to when Lent ends. It’s one of those things that there should be an answer to, but ultimatly it’s down to what we believe, so therefore I am sticking to what I have believed all my knowledgable life and still not having chocolate on Sundays!

See but now I worry that apparently I shouldn’t be abstaining from things on a Sunday as I should be celebrating the day of Our Lord. It makes me understand why religon is one of those things that causes heated debate, just like politics. And then throw in other religons too, wow, now there’s a bottle about to errupt. My personal belief is that Jesus didn’t get to come back from the desert every Sunday for his roast dinner, therefore I’m sticking to my 40 days being a straight run through! I’ve normally done all the way through to Easter Sunday too, just not realising it takes me over 40 days, or that “Holy Week” is a seperate period of fasting. It’s all so bloomin’ confusing, all for giving up a bit of chocolate to try and loose a few lbs. Trouble is after all this I need chocolate even more, I can feel my hair going greyer as a type!!!!!

Roll on the end of Lent………………………whenever that may be!!!!

March 2, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Religon | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. who knew Lent could be so confusing…

    Comment by Heather | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I know!!! It would have been so much easier if I just kept eating chocolate lmao!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. I think faith can be very complicated depending on how seriously you take it. Giving up something for Lent is a sign of your committment to your faith. I am not a Christian so perhaps not the best person to comment.

    Enjoy your Easter eggs though!

    CJ xx

    Comment by Crystal Jigsaw | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. I personally was always very thankful that Sundays weren’t included when I was growing up – because my birthday always falls during Lent! So, even if I’d given up Chocolate or Candy or whatever, I could have it on the Sunday closest to my birthday!

    Comment by Erin | March 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes I can imagine that would be a good thing – and m also pleased to find this isn’t just something that has recently been made up before, can’t believe I never heard of it before!

      Comment by supersinglemum | March 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

