Super Single Mum's Blog

Life and all the shananigins!

The wonderful half term feeling!

It’s once again that wonderful time of year, where the kids get a week off and us parents get bored silly!!! February 13th 2009 by -JosephB-.

Now before I start, don’t get me wrong, I love my kids to bits – I just want to clarify that point before I continue!

On Friday I picked up B from school and we were both excited about the week off ahead. Lets face it, I was excited at the prospect of not having to get up and out the house early, and the slight possibility of a lie in (fat chance with H!) B was excited about no school, being able to stay in bed in the mornings and just playing all week. H on the other hand was just facing normality as she isn’t yet at school and until I start work in a few weeks, is at home all the time anyway!

So far we are on day 3 of the 9 days off. So far B hasn’t stayed asleep past 7am. On a school morning I have to shake her awake at 7.30am! I am fed up of “can I have”, “can I watch TV”, “I’m bored”, “what can I do” and we have so much longer to go!!! And what am I doing to stay sane? Playing my farming game on Facebook! Not constantly, fat chance of that lol! But enough that B just told me I should get off the laptop if I have a headache because it will make it worse!

B has finally got the idea today that the TV is not going on, and when H wakes from her nap we are going to walk to the shop just to get out the house for a bit. Oh hang on, we spent all morning at Let’s Play, oh yes that’s right, H was in a strop as it was too busy for her and all she wanted to do was eat chocolate! Might take a rain check, or rather a snow check on that trip to the shop, yep, here comes the snow again!

I can’t help but think roll on bedtime and then feel like a completely awful mother because I have no idea how to keep a 7 year old entertained. Summer holidays are great, the weather is better and we can go on day trips out, or play in the garden. But with the large-ish age gap and a 7 yr old and 18 month old to keep occupied I am feeling a little out of my depth for the 1st time since having 2 kids! H wants to play with what ever B has, B wants to play with things her sister can’t touch, and both of them want to shout at me about it!

Before I know it B will be back at school and I will be starting work, and life will rarely be like this again. Holidays when I’m not working we will get out and do more because I will have wheels and the money to do it. Mabe thats why I am feeling it this week! But any suggestions on how to keep sane for the rest of the week are greatly appreciated!!!

Picture from Flickr.com by  -JosephB- http://www.flickr.com/photos/josephb/4171701696/

February 15, 2010 - Posted by | Parenting, School and Childcare | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I’m impressed that your little one actually asks to turn the tv on- mine’s only three and just grabs the remote!

    Comment by Methusula mum | February 15, 2010 | Reply

    • My 7 year old has always asked, although she whines when she’s told no! My 18month old plonks herself down and says “tele”, then has a tantrum if I say no!!! It’s all fun lol!

      Comment by supersinglemum | February 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. After our morning at Let’s Play, Baby Bean only slept for ONE HOUR!!! Mummy was NOT impressed! But then we did hand painting and colouring and we braved the cold winds and snow and ventured out for a walk.

    What about baking? Does B like it? I know H is a bit small just yet but perhaps when she is asleep?

    Comment by MummyMatters | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • I have to hold up my hands and say I am rubbish with baking – I have never been able to bake and so don’t feel inspired to try and teach B! H slept for 2 hours yesterday and today when she went for a nap me and B (after she had done some homework) were just messing about, trying to tickle each other etc, and the time flew. I just get used to having her home and it’s back to school! We did venture out in the snow yesterday when H woke up though, but was too cold for the park which is a shame, me and H lived at the park till winter hit!

      Comment by supersinglemum | February 16, 2010 | Reply

      • Buy packet cake mixes and let them decorate them you don’t have to be able to bake to do that

        Comment by kim | February 17, 2010 | Reply

        • You would think eh lmao!!!! I have even been known for those type not to rise!!! Might give it a try tomorrow though, if B mixes and all I do is supervise and put them in the oven………………watch this space!

          Comment by supersinglemum | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Why why do they wake up earlier in the holidays? Its just not fair…

    Comment by Natural Mummy | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Haha, I don’t know, but we finally cracked 9am today so here’s hoping for a few lie in’s after all!

      Comment by supersinglemum | February 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

